Enough is enough!

Does anyone remember this movie?

Apparently it was a commercial flop and critics hated it, but I remember enjoying it when I was 10 and had less discerning taste. This movie may have been (one of) the reason(s) why I didn’t like the Big Lebowski. I remember a friend of mine telling me about a scene in the Big Lebowski that she thought was particularly hilarious. Where they scatter Donnie’s ashes to the wind and it all flies back into their faces. Mel Brooks did it first. (I can never embed videos properly. Go here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MAx1XLyFQLw It’s at 52 minutes.)

The movie was about a millionaire (played by Brooks) who was challenged to live on the streets as a homeless person for 30 days. Hilarity ensued.

Why am I posting now about a 20 year old movie that no one (but me) liked enough to remember? It’s not like it was a unique idea. (See the Prince and the Pauper, Maid to Order, Trading Places) Because I think the best thing Mitt Romney could do for his campaign is to shut the hell up and I would love to see how he would cope living as even a middle class person. 47%, at the risk or repeating everything you have probably already heard, represents the elderly on social security, the unemployed, the working poor, and people who have enough deductions to make is so they have no taxable income. It could also represent big companies (who according to Romney are people) that don’t pay income taxes or who get more in subsidies than they pay out. And rather than address any of the real reasons why 47% of people aren’t paying income taxes (deductions in place to promote certain behaviors or tax avoidance schemes) or why most Americans don’t want to vote for Romney, he conjures up the tired old image of a mythical welfare queen.

So I would love to see Romney swap places with, let’s say a single mom. I would love to see Romney be afraid to lose his job (he loves firing people. Turn around is fair play) because he has to stay home with a sick kid. I would love to see Romney’s several cars breakdown and have to take several buses to get to work. I would love to see him experience one tenth of 47% of the population’s every day struggles before confuses laziness with lack of privilege again. (And I would love, love, love to see him try to open a window on a commercial flight. Hasn’t he seen Snakes on a Plane or Nightmare at 20,000 Feet?)

One more thing about the so-called moocher class that Romney thinks are voting for Obama no matter what? He’s probably wrong about that too.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Enough is enough!

  1. Raunak says:

    give the guy 4 years and then give him all the sh*t in the world! he hasn’t even had a chance in office yet….
    oops…I see hell breaking loose on that comment 🙂

    • emmawolf says:

      Given your post the other day about how American outsourcing has hurt your country, do you really want to see the guy who made billions outsourcing jobs take the helm over here?

      • Raunak says:

        capitalism will drive jobs back to the US. The wealthy cannot continue to make money unless the US consumers have surplus money in their hands. This is possible only when they have jobs, more jobs and more well paying jobs. It is only a matter of time before the jobs return to the US.

        Having someone who supports low income taxes will accelerate the movement of jobs back to the US. Higher income taxes and stronger Unions as encouraged by Obama will create an impediment to creation of jobs in the US. That’s why I feel that this is the right time to get the right wing party into power. I hate their social views, but I think that once the Republicans are into power, economy will be the main issue and all the social stupidity will fade away.

        So purely from the point of view that I raised in that post of mine, I would not mind having him take over the helm there.

        • emmawolf says:

          “Having someone who supports low income taxes will accelerate the movement of jobs back to the US.”

          BS. The top tax rate is as low as it’s been for a long, long time. And jobs are not here.

          “but I think that once the Republicans are into power, economy will be the main issue and all the social stupidity will fade away.”

          They are in power in the House of Representatives. They are focusing on stupidity rather than the economy.

          • Raunak says:

            Reducing income tax rates of low and mid level income workers will lower the salary payouts to a level that will make it profitable for companies to setup factories in the US. Combine this with low excise duties on raw materials, and the manufacturing cost will go down drastically. An economic revival needs drastically low tax regimes. I have seen the quality of work in US, India and China. I would be willing to cut my profit margins and move my manufacturing to the US. The quality I am assured there will increase my profits from the increase in my sales.

            They have been focusing on stupidity because they don’t have the WH and they are politicians. Why would they want anything meaningful to happen under the current presidency?

            Again, I should not be arguing on this because I am not an American citizen. I can never have the true picture and hence am willing to accept that I could be totally wrong.

        • emmawolf says:

          “Reducing income tax rates of low and mid level income workers will lower the salary payouts to a level that will make it profitable for companies to setup factories in the US.”

          Maybe, but the Republicans have not shown an interest in reducing the income tax rates of low and mid level workers. (If anything, they think they are not paying enough income tax….remember Romney’s 47% whine?)

          “I would be willing to cut my profit margins and move my manufacturing to the US.”

          If only more people thought like this. I’m going to preface what I’m going to say next with this: I am not anti-corporation.

          The goal of corporations is to make money. I’m not saying that to be cynical, I’m stating a fact. (And remember my preface, I don’t think there is necessarily something wrong with this.) Legally, their obligation to their shareholders is to give them a profit. If they don’t, they can get sued. Right now, they think they best way to give them a profit is by cutting costs. The past few years have shown this works. So it’s going to be a lot of work to prove to the shareholder that by increasing increasing expenses, they can actually increase profits.

          “They have been focusing on stupidity because they don’t have the WH and they are politicians. Why would they want anything meaningful to happen under the current presidency?”

          Right. They have said their number one goal is that they want Obama to be a one-term president. But I just can’t believe they will have a change of heart on…well, everything, if they get in power. (They have also been focused on stupidity rather than economy in state governments.)

          “Again, I should not be arguing on this because I am not an American citizen.”

          pfft. You are just as entitled to an opinion as anyone else.

          “I can never have the true picture and hence am willing to accept that I could be totally wrong.”

          …not totally…

          • Raunak says:

            so I rephrase:
            The economy right now needs a center right party that lowers income taxes on low and middle income groups. a party that believes in reducing excise duties on raw materials.

            unfortunately, neither side is going to do this. The republicans theoretically stand for this but do not practice it. The Democrats do not believe in this at all so I do not expect them to implement policies along these lines. But certain leftist principles, if enforced, can do great damage to the US and the world. Hence, I would still side with the non-left, which in this case is only one choice.

What do you think?

