Shameful sunday

OMG, I can’t believe I wrote this. A friend of mine is editing my novel, and she has found some truly hilarious typos. But none of them compare to the one I just found myself.

So I have been in an abortion debate with a guy over at Secular Ethics and Fair and Unbalanced. The weird thing is, we agree with each other, so I really don’t know why we’re arguing. No, I do. We’re talking about personhood and I said, well if abortion is murder, than a miscarriage is manslaughter. He disagrees. So I’m telling him that there are certain things that women are not supposed to do while pregnant and that doing them could harm the baby. If she does them, I wrote, she could be said to have “a wonton disregard for human life.” I cannot believe I wrote that. In my defense, I was pretty hungry when I wrote that.

I am so ashamed.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Shameful Sunday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shameful sunday

  1. Heather says:

    Well, as long as it’s just wontons she’s disregarding… hahaha!

  2. slendermeans says:

    HA! That’s actually pretty funny! 🙂

  3. Ryan says:

    Are we still debating? I agreed that a miscarriage could, under some (not all) circumstances, be considered manslaughter if we outlawed abortion. I was under the impression that my agreement ended the debate.

    • emmawolf says:

      Oh, no. I’m sorry. Unless you want to go on. I actually wrote this immediately after my ridiculousness (and thus before we came to an agreement) but timed it to appear yesterday. NB how I also mischaracterized my own argument and wrote here that “a miscarriage is manslaughter.” I linked to you so people could see the context of my silliness. I hope no one was giving you a hard time…

What do you think?

