My so-called life

I didn’t intend for this blog to be about feminism. I intended it to be a place for me to talk about my writing. But this week has just been mind boggling. (See this great piece of rape fatigue.)

The other day when reading a piece about personhood (life=zygote), I needed a moment to process how insane that idea is. According to the American Congress of Obstetricians and Gynecologists, pregnancy begins at the moment of implantation. So according to the concept of personhood, a life is formed before the mother is even pregnant (unless the mother lives in Arizona, in which case, the mother is pregnant before she even has sex). And if personhood becomes law, the idea is that everyone on hormonal birth control into murderers. Here is a visual aid:

While I support the work of Wake Up Mississippi, this billboard gives me pause. Wait, no it won’t. Neither the birth control pill nor the morning after pill prevent implantation after fertilization. They prevent ovulation. So even if the demented personhood crap were to pass, the pill wouldn’t be a lethal weapon. (I thought about inserting an image from the movie Lethal Weapon here, and then I thought about maybe Mel Gibson’s mug shot, but his mug shot isn’t nearly as hilarious as Nick Nolte’s. But unfortunately, Nick Nolte’s mug shot would be completely irrelevant here.) Then are the makers of this sign just as guilty of using bad science as the right is? I don’t think so.

The FDA-required warning label of the pill states that it may block a fertilized egg from implanting in the lining of the uterus, though this is not accurate. The pill actually prevents or delays ovulation and thickens cervical mucus (the juices that Rep. Aldridge mentioned) so sperm can’t swim as well. Real scientists know this. In the case of the morning after pill, the pharmaceutical company has asked the FDA to properly label their product, and they have refused. Thus giving an excuse for the right wing to keep banging their drum about baby-killing drugs and holding hearing where religious men tell us about the horrors of the birth control pill when they don’t even know what the fuck it does.

So because the right is on a war on science as well as a war on women, it won’t matter that the pill doesn’t even do the crap they say it does. Women who take the pill will still be branded as murderers not just because of personhood, but also because of fake science.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My so-called life

  1. Things like this keep me up at night…

What do you think?

