Shameful Sunday: analogies

Again, I’m so sorry I never got a picture of this. It was at BWI Airport for the longest time, but I never took a picture. I think it was an ad for a computer. I’ve forgotten the brand, which means that the advertizement could not have very effective. But the company is probably glad their name is not associated with the horrible ad. Remember analogies on the SATs? They asked a is to b as c is to _____. Such “as apple is to fruit as carrot is to __________.” The trick for these analogies was to look at the relationship between a and b and to find a set with a similar relationship. Well, the person who wrote this ad must not have done very well on the verbal portion. He wrote “SVU is to your old computer as hybrid is to ___________,” the blank being the name of the computer company. But there is no relationship between the SUV and the computer.

(nb, I just wanted to link you to this blog. I couldn’t find a picture of the ad online, but someone else remembers it.)

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Shameful Sunday. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

