Friday five: favorite villains

Last time I wrote about my favorite love interests, today I’ll write about my favorite baddies. It’s not that I condone what any of these people did. I just love reading about them. In no particular order:

1. Tom Riddle/Voldemort from Harry Potter. One thing that I hate about most good versus bad stories is that often times the bad guy doesn’t have a back story or a raison d’etre. The reader is just supposed to accept that he’s evil. I love that Rowling didn’t fall into this trap, even though she was writing a children’s story. She let us understand why Tom did the things he did and showed us how he became who he did.

2. Tamora, Queen of the Goths from Titus Andronicus. Again with the raison d’etre. She was queen but was taken to Rome as a slave. Her son was murdered and she was (basically) forced to marry the emperor/her latest oppressor. She was motivated to avenge the wrongs done to her.

And Jessica Lange rocked her in Julie Taymor’s version

But what I really love about this play is that everyone is a bad guy.

3. Astegal from Kushiel’s Legacy by Jacqueline Carey. This ambitious general from Carthage put parts of Terre d’Ange under his creepy cousin’s spell. His defeat is one of my favorite parts of these books.

4. Rachel from My Cousin Rachel by Daphne du Maurier. Was she a bad guy? I love that we are second guessing ourselves through the entire book.

5. The House from House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski. Can an inanimate object be a villain? Was the house inanimate? (I resisted a terrible urge to make that in blue font). I don’t even know how to describe this. The creepiness factor for this book was amazing.

Who are your favorite villains?

Also, be sure to check out Booksnobbery where I won a ride on the legendary Dodisharkicorn!

(I apologize for the funky formatting. I have no idea how to fix this.)

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Friday Five and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Friday five: favorite villains

  1. sj says:

    I think the indentations might be because of the theme. >.<

  2. sj says:

    Sidenote: the mobile wp on my phone is formatted normally, so I really think it IS the theme.

  3. Pingback: 30 day book challenge. Day 8 « emmawolf

  4. Pingback: Very Inspiring Blogger Award | rarasaur

What do you think?

