Questions for my readers

No. Not really. In fact, please don’t.


I have a job interview tomorrow, and I’m not really sure how I feel about this. On one hand, yay, great. On the other, I have to miss yoga to go to it. I’ve become very cynical lately and that has destroyed all hope of me getting a for realsie job. I’ve been freelancing for the past 3 years and love it. But whenever things get slow (like they are now) I send out my resume. Because I’m an idiot. I should be networking and meeting potential clients.

So a few weeks ago I sent my resume out, and lo and behold, I got an email. But because I’m a bitch and am more upset about missing yoga than hopeful that I’m going to get a job, I’m going to take this opportunity to complain.


I always say “hello [person’s name].” I just think it’s polite. I think it’s kind of rude to just start with the person’s name. But I think it’s beyond the pale to just start talking if you’re writing a formal email. Especially if you don’t know the person. And especially if you work in HR. And especially especially if the next thing you’re going to ask is if the unemployed recipient is willing to work overtime. It’s like you’re already giving me two red flags that the company doesn’t respect its workers.


The application asked me for this at least two times. And I’m thinking, no. I had my identity stolen once before, I’m not going to invite people to do it again. Especially not for a job I’m not sure I want.

So tomorrow I’m off to an interview. For the lols if nothing else.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Questions for my readers

  1. If it’s someone I know well, I just start writing. Because. Just because. If it’s someone who doesn’t know me so well, I use their name or a “Hey!” If I’m writing something professionally, I do try to be professional. I’ll use their name or a “Good morning.” I also try to refrain from calling them a Sasquatch, even if they are. Good manners must prevail.

    • emmawolf says:

      I realized after I wrote this that I’m the same way if it’s a friend. I hope none of my friends think that’s rude. But if it’s professional, I always write “Hello _____” or similar. Personally, it irks me a little when some one just uses my name, but that might be the convention and I’ve just been over sensitive.

What do you think?

