Shameful Sunday: my misplaced modifer

So this is a line from my novel that contains a pretty amusing (I think) error:

I was a wuss about strange dogs off leashes and drunk.

I think this is called a misplaced modifier. I meant to say my narrator was drunk and afraid of strange dogs, but it sounds like it might mean she’s afraid of drunk dogs.

For more on misplaced modifiers, see this helpful article.

What examples do you have of shameful writing (but let’s be gentle in our mockery)?

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Shameful Sunday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

