There wolf! There castle!

So, I didn’t know I was into werewolves until I wrote my novel. Didn’t I tell you it was about werewolves? I was always more of a vampire fan. I love almost everything vampire. Anne Rice, Kindred: the Embraced, the Historian, the Last Vampire, Vamped, Night Watch. I even went on a self-guided Dracula tour of Romania. I didn’t go to Bran Castle. I went to Poenari Castle, because that was the real deal. I’d show you pictures, but you won’t believe how lame I am: I loaded the film wrong! This was in the days before digital cameras became popular. When I went to collect my pictures from the one hour developer, the clerk apologetically told me one whole roll didn’t come out.

“Oh well. Vampires don’t show up on film anyway,” I said to cheer myself up.

“Did you go to a convention?” the clerk asked me, a little too excited.

My book actually started out as a vampire novel, then I got massive writer’s block. I couldn’t continue and nothing worked until I figured out it was really about werewolves. I went through what I had done and changed everything. And from there, it just flowed. But I was really glad that I got to keep my favorite line. It occurs just after my main character realizes that she has become a werewolf, and she is talking with another werewolf who explains things to her.

“I assume you’re familiar with the literature.”

By “the literature,” I could only assume he meant Little Red Riding Hood or Beowulf. Oh dear Lord, was I living in a world where Twilight was considered literature?

Who is your favorite werewolf? Who is your favorite vampire? If a vampire and a werewolf were to get into a fight, who would win?

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to There wolf! There castle!

  1. caitlinstern says:

    My favorite comedic vampires and werewolves are in Terry Pratchett’s books.

    The flames illuminated a crude sign nailed to a tree.

    ‘”Don’t go near the Castle!!”‘Nanny read. ‘Nice of them to put an arrow pointing the way to it, too.’

    • emmawolf says:

      Thanks for the recommendation. I should check it out. My favorite comedic vampires are in the books Vamped and Vampire Haiku. My favorite haiku there was about Twilight and read:
      “Those were not vampires.
      If sunlight makes you sparkle,
      You’re a unicorn.”

  2. Writing Jobs says:

    That was an excellent post today. You make it look so easy. Thanks so much for sharing. I really enjoyed reading it very much. Have a wonderful day.

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today –


    Writers Wanted

  3. jedisean74 says:

    Very nice. It is refreshing to see the subject matter treated in a way that only a true fan would. I am currently reading Gregory Lamberson’s The Frenzy Way, and have started The Frenzy War. Very good werewolf literature. I look forward to speaking to you further in the future. And yes, Twilight is not literature. They’re talking of rebooting the damn movie series. Ungh!
    Oh one last thing. Glenn Duncan’s The Last Werewolf was great. Haven’t read his new one Tululla Rising. Cheers.

    • emmawolf says:

      What’s the deal with all the Hollywood rebooting lately? Star Trek, sure. Made sense. But Spiderman? Why? Didn’t I just watch a (pretty good, I thought) Spiderman series? And why would they want to reboot Twilight before they even finished making those crappy movies?! (Though even I have to admit, vampire c-section…pretty hot in a dear god, what am I reading sort of way.)

      Thanks for the recommendations.

  4. lgalaviz says:

    Twilight is to literature as Doritos are to health food.

What do you think?

