Eugenics Israeli Style. The right to exist.

A friend of mine once explained that to question Israel’s policy is to be anti-Israeli. I think he’s wrong, but I know a lot of people think he’s right. A lot of people confuse dissent with disloyalty when it comes to Israel. Even Americans, their notions of being able to patriotically question the government are thrown out the window when it comes to Israel. With Israel, we must fall in line or we are anti-semitic. To question the government is to question Israel’s right to exist.

Well, I am not in line. And I am tired of people telling me to see things in black and white. That I can either love Israel or question Israel.

Over the past 10 years, the birth rate of Ethiopian Jews in Israel has decreased by 50%. Why? Eugenics. Bibi believes that Ethiopian Jews “threaten [Israel's] existence as a Jewish and democratic state.” *Yes, he thinks Jews threaten Israel’s existence as a Jewish state because some Jews don’t pass the paper bag test. So what is a racist to do? Genocide, which is defined, in relevant part, as “imposing measures intended to prevent births within the group,” such as injecting Ethiopian Jewish women with Depo-Provera without their consent, telling them they are receiving vaccines. This all coming at time in which Jews bemoan the fact that the Arab-Israeli birthrate is greater than the Jewish-Israeli birthrate. There’s a simple solution to that: Israel should stop being racist. It might help in more ways than one.

I’m so saddened by this. I’m so saddened when I hear people say “Wherever I Stand, I Stand with Israel” yet remain ignorant about some of Israel’s dirtier politics and policies. I know where I stand when it comes to Eugenics. I know where I stand when it comes to racism and sexism. And it is not with Israel.

*Edit: it has been pointed out to me that this quote may have been taken out of context. If anyone can provide more information, I would greatly appreciate it.

3 thoughts on “Eugenics Israeli Style. The right to exist.

  1. This is thoughtful and well said. I’m reminded of the climate in the US during GWB’s first term (and sadly, even to this day in some less visionary pockets), after the 9/11 attacks. “If you’re not with us, you’re against us.” What a crock.

    I have nothing against Israel in general, either the country or its population. I also don’t have anything against the US, either the country or its population. I don’t have to agree with everything in order to support either country because I’m a human being who has a brain and knows how to think. The other side of that, of course, is that disagreeing with something doesn’t equal disloyalty.

    • “I don’t have to agree with everything in order to support either country because I’m a human being who has a brain and knows how to think.”

      Yes! Sometimes people forget that some of these things are just opinions, not truths. Disagreeing with an opinion isn’t the same as anti-Israeli or unconstitutional. (Though in this case, I don’t think “yes, we should drug Ethiopian women without their consent” is really a valid opinion.)

What do you think? But be warned: if you say something stupid, I'll mock you.

